Monday, July 25, 2022

Book Tour-The Scandalous Hamiltons

 

Author: Bill Shaffer

Publisher: Kensington Publishing 

Year: 2022

🎊 𝐁𝐨𝐨𝐤 𝐅𝐞𝐚𝐭𝐮𝐫𝐞 🎊

Thank you @kensingtonpublishing @BetweentheChapters & @tlcbookktours for my #gifted copy & having me on this tour. Can’t wait to start this! It’s perfect for fans of The Gilded Age & Inventing Anna! It published tomorrow so be sure to grab a copy. 

𝐒𝐲𝐧𝐨𝐩𝐬𝐢𝐬: An Alexander Hamilton heir, a beautiful female con artist, an abandoned baby, & the shocking courtroom drama that was splashed across front pages from coast to coast—this is the fascinating true story behind one of the greatest scandals of the Gilded Age . . .

It’s a story almost too tawdry to be true—a con woman prostitute who met the descendant of a Founding Father in a brothel, duped him into marriage using an infant purchased from a baby farm, then went to prison for stabbing the couple’s baby nurse—all while in a common-law marriage with another man. The scandal surrounding Evangeline and Robert Ray Hamilton, though little known today, was one of the sensations of the Gilded Age, a sordid, gripping tale involving bigamy, bribery, sex, and violence.

When the salacious Hamilton story emerged in during Eva’s trial for the August 1889 stabbing, it commanded unprecedented national and international newspaper coverage thanks to the telegraph and the recently founded Associated Press. For the New York dailies, eager to capture readers through provocative headlines, Ray and Eva were a godsend.

As lurid details emerged, the public’s fascination grew—how did a man of Hamilton’s stature become entangled with such an adventuress? Nellie Bly, the world-famous investigative reporter, finagled an exclusive interview with Eva after her conviction. Hamilton’s death under mysterious circumstances, a year after the stabbing, added to the intrigue.

Through personal correspondence, court records, and sensational newspaper accounts, The Scandalous Hamiltons explores not only the full, riveting saga of ill-fated Ray and Eva, but the rise of tabloid journalism and celebrity in a story that is both a fascinating slice of pop culture history and a timeless tale of ambition, greed, and obsession. 

QOTD: what are you reading this week? 

I’m reading Lessons in Chemistry and loving it.

#thescandaloushamiltons #billshaffer #kensingtonpublishing #betweenthechapters #tlcbooktours #gildedage #hamilton #conartist #scandal #nelliebly #tabloidjournalsim #truthisstrangerthanfiction

No comments:

Post a Comment

Under Your Spell

  Author: Laura Wood Narrator: Ellie Heydon Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Year: 2024 🎧𝗔𝘂𝗱𝗶𝗼𝗯𝗼𝗼𝗸 𝗥𝗲𝘃𝗶𝗲𝘄🎧 Many thanks...