Sunday, February 7, 2021

The Holdout

 The Holdout 


Author: Graham Moore

Narrator: Abby Craden

Publisher: Random House Audio

Year: 2020

Happy Big Game Day! Are you cheering for KC or TB?

The Holdout Out is about a trial that rocks a city. Bobby Nock, a young Black teacher, is accused of murdering one of his students. Jessica Silver was the teenage daughter of a wealthy real estate developer and her body was never found. The prosecution thinks it has enough evidence to easily convict. The jury is picked and soon sequestered as Booby Nock’s trial begins. 

Maya Seale is one of the jurors and she’s convinced Bobby is innocent. She seems to be the only one who does. But as the jury deliberates, Maya convinces her fellow jurors of Bobby’s innocence. They find him not guilty. It’s a decision that will haunt the jurors and change their lives. 

Ten years after the trial, a true crime docuseries brings the jury together again. When one of her fellow jurors is murdered, Maya must prove her own innocence in that killing as she questions Bobby Nock’s true involvement in Jessica’s murder all those years ago. 

This part legal thriller and part whodunnit is a compelling and entertaining story. The story pulls you right in as it flows back and forth between past and present. It was interesting to see how the trial changed the jurors and set them on different paths. The ending has a twist I did not anticipate at all. The audiobook narration by Abby Craden is spot on and engaging. This is perfect for fans of John Grisham and Michael Connelly’s Lincoln Lawyer books.
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

#theholdout #grahammoore #abbycraden #randomhouseaudio #trail #jury #notgulity #sequesteredjurors #leagalsystem #legalthriller #mystery #bookreview #audiobookreview #audiobookstagram #audiobooks #audible #audiblebooks #readwithmyears #audiobook 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Under Your Spell

  Author: Laura Wood Narrator: Ellie Heydon Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Year: 2024 🎧𝗔𝘂𝗱𝗶𝗼𝗯𝗼𝗼𝗸 𝗥𝗲𝘃𝗶𝗲𝘄🎧 Many thanks...