Tuesday, August 23, 2022

Currently Reading

 


🎮 𝐂𝐮𝐫𝐫𝐞𝐧𝐭𝐥𝐲 𝐑𝐞𝐚𝐝𝐢𝐧𝐠 🎮

Happy Tuesday! I’m #currentlyreading Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow. I’m loving this story of friends and the main characters are fabulous. 

Work is going well and I feel like I’m settling into being an #outreachlibrarian. It’s pretty quiet on the home front. A great blue heron is visiting our little pond and eating the koi fish. Easy snacks for him to catch. He usually shows up this time every summer. He’s pretty crafty and I haven’t been able to get close enough for a good pic. 

QOTD: what are you reading this week?

#tomorrowandtomorrowandtomorrow #gabriellezevin #alfredaknopfpublishing #currentlyreading #losangeles #boston #gaming #gamers #friendship #gamedevelopment #bookstagram #igreads #booksbooksbooks #bookworm #bibliophile #bibliophilelife #alwaysreading

Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Run Time

 

Author: Catherine Ryan Howard 

Publisher: Blackstone Publishing 

Year: 2022

🎬 𝐁𝐨𝐨𝐤 𝐑𝐞𝐯𝐢𝐞𝐰 🎬 

Thank you @netgalley and @blackstonepublishing for the digital review copy. Run Times hits shelves on Tuesday, August 16.

Adele, a down-on-her-luck actress trying to make it in Hollywood, is suddenly offered the leading role in a horror movie shooting in her native Ireland. She jumps at the chance to redeem herself after a previous on-set meltdown set her career up in flames. Once Adele arrives at the shooting location in a remote and isolated area of West Cork, she discovers the horror on set may not be all make believe. 

As usual, author @cathryanhoward cooks up a an entertaining thriller with lots of twists and turns. This is a mixed media book like Howard’s bestseller The Nothing Man. That was a book within a book. In Run Time, it’s a movie script and a book within a book. It gets a little meta at times. I liked Adele’s character and the peek behind the scenes of making a movie- even though this movie production was totally off the rails. This is perfect for fans of scary movies (like The Blair Witch Project) and readers looking for a twisty suspense story. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 

QOTD: what’s your favorite movie? 

I don’t have a definitive movie that I can point to and say that it’s my absolute favorite of all time. I love a lot of different movies for different reasons such as an actor’s performance, overall story, or cinematography.

#RunTime #CatherineRyanHoward #blackstonepublishing #netgalley #horrorfiction #thrillerfiction #suspense #crimefiction #ireland #westcork #movieproduction #horrormovie #friendorenemy #actress #bookstagram #igreads #booksworm #bibliophile 

Sunday, August 7, 2022

New Books

 


📚 𝐌𝐢𝐧𝐢 𝐁𝐨𝐨𝐤 𝐇𝐚𝐮𝐥 📚

Happy Sunday! 

Our beach vacation is over and I’m at my daughter’s house for a few days. But before we left the beach, we had to visit The Island Bookstore in Corolla,  the local indie bookstore. I picked up This Tender Land for my buddy read this month with @thereadingteapot and @rjs.readingnook I also bought Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow because @rjs.readingnook said it was the best book they read this year and I’ve seen tons of other rave reviews. 

QOTD: how often do you wash your car or take it to a car wash? 

I took my car to a car wash this morning to get any salt and sand off of it from being at the beach. I live on a dirt road at home and my car never stays clean there. 

#thistenderlandbook #tomorrowandtomorrowandtomorrow #bookhaul #shopindie #buddyread #beachvacation #obx #corolla #shoplocal #islandbookstore #bookstore #indiebookstore #bookstagram #igreads #booksbooksbooks #alwaysreading #bibliophile #bibliophilelife #readmorebooks

Tuesday, August 2, 2022

What’s Coming to Me

 

Author: Francesca Padilla

Publisher: Soho Teen

Year: 2022


📖 𝐇𝐚𝐩𝐩𝐲 𝐏𝐮𝐛 𝐃𝐚𝐲 𝐚𝐧𝐝 𝐑𝐞𝐯𝐢𝐞𝐰 📖

Seventeen-year-old Minervia is going through tough times. Her mother’s hospitalization for congenital heart failure has left Min alone and lonely. Min’s grades sunk and she got expelled from school for fighting. Her only bright spot is that she landed a coveted job at a beloved neighborhood ice cream stand. Except she hates working there because of her creepy boss. When the ice cream stand is robbed at closing one night, old rumors about lots of cash hidden in the stand resurface. Min is desperate for change- to flee poverty, to flee her crummy apartment, to flee her memories. Min and her neighbor CeCe, also desperate for cash to get away, become obsessed with finding the treasure hidden in the ice cream stand. They decide to risk everything for the chance at new lives. 

What’s Coming to Me is a notable debut novel for author Francesca Padilla and features a Dominican main character. I really liked Minervia’s voice. Her sorrows and struggles were heartbreaking. Minerva’s grief and desperation lead her to make some bad choices, but she’s a kid in a world of hurt. She’s smart, determined, and resilient. I couldn’t help but root for Min as she learns to accept help, reconnects with her best friend, and finds love. I’m looking forward to what comes next from Padilla. 

This book will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Tiffany D. Jackson and readers who enjoy realistic fiction and family drama. 
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Thank you to @netgalley and @soho_teen for the digital review copy. What’s Coming to Me is out today. 

#whatscomingtome #francescapadilla #sohopress #debutnovel #contemporaryfiction #realisticfiction #yafiction #comingofagenovel #bildungsroman #grief #friendship #creepyboss #icecreamstand #bookstagram #igreads #netgalley #familydrama

Monday, August 1, 2022

Currently Reading

 


📖 𝐂𝐮𝐫𝐫𝐞𝐧𝐭𝐥𝐲 𝐑𝐞𝐚𝐝𝐢𝐧𝐠 📖

Happy August and happy Monday! 

I’m currently reading Nice Girls by Catherine Dang. I was checking the progress of some library holds in @libby.app last night and then started searching Libby for any books were on my @goodreads want to read list. Nice Girls had been on the list since last September and was available. I’m not very far into it but I’m enjoying it so far. 

QOTD: what book are you kicking off August with? 

#currentlyreading #beachreading #beachread #nicegirls #catherinedang #williammorrowbooks #thrillerbooks #mysteryfiction #crimefiction #ivyleague #formerbestfriends #highschoollife #missingperson #readingonthebeachisthebest #bookstagram #igreads #kindle #kindlepaperwhite #sawdolphinstoday #obx #outerbanks 

Under Your Spell

  Author: Laura Wood Narrator: Ellie Heydon Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Year: 2024 🎧𝗔𝘂𝗱𝗶𝗼𝗯𝗼𝗼𝗸 𝗥𝗲𝘃𝗶𝗲𝘄🎧 Many thanks...