Tuesday, August 2, 2022

What’s Coming to Me

 

Author: Francesca Padilla

Publisher: Soho Teen

Year: 2022


๐Ÿ“– ๐‡๐š๐ฉ๐ฉ๐ฒ ๐๐ฎ๐› ๐ƒ๐š๐ฒ ๐š๐ง๐ ๐‘๐ž๐ฏ๐ข๐ž๐ฐ ๐Ÿ“–

Seventeen-year-old Minervia is going through tough times. Her mother’s hospitalization for congenital heart failure has left Min alone and lonely. Min’s grades sunk and she got expelled from school for fighting. Her only bright spot is that she landed a coveted job at a beloved neighborhood ice cream stand. Except she hates working there because of her creepy boss. When the ice cream stand is robbed at closing one night, old rumors about lots of cash hidden in the stand resurface. Min is desperate for change- to flee poverty, to flee her crummy apartment, to flee her memories. Min and her neighbor CeCe, also desperate for cash to get away, become obsessed with finding the treasure hidden in the ice cream stand. They decide to risk everything for the chance at new lives. 

What’s Coming to Me is a notable debut novel for author Francesca Padilla and features a Dominican main character. I really liked Minervia’s voice. Her sorrows and struggles were heartbreaking. Minerva’s grief and desperation lead her to make some bad choices, but she’s a kid in a world of hurt. She’s smart, determined, and resilient. I couldn’t help but root for Min as she learns to accept help, reconnects with her best friend, and finds love. I’m looking forward to what comes next from Padilla. 

This book will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Tiffany D. Jackson and readers who enjoy realistic fiction and family drama. 
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Thank you to @netgalley and @soho_teen for the digital review copy. What’s Coming to Me is out today. 

#whatscomingtome #francescapadilla #sohopress #debutnovel #contemporaryfiction #realisticfiction #yafiction #comingofagenovel #bildungsroman #grief #friendship #creepyboss #icecreamstand #bookstagram #igreads #netgalley #familydrama

No comments:

Post a Comment

Under Your Spell

  Author: Laura Wood Narrator: Ellie Heydon Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Year: 2024 ๐ŸŽง๐—”๐˜‚๐—ฑ๐—ถ๐—ผ๐—ฏ๐—ผ๐—ผ๐—ธ ๐—ฅ๐—ฒ๐˜ƒ๐—ถ๐—ฒ๐˜„๐ŸŽง Many thanks...